2023 State Minimum First DUI License Suspension Period

2023 State Minimum First DUI License Suspension Period

Each state has it’s own unique drunk driving laws and penalties. In the state of 2023, a first-time DUI conviction can result in license suspension periods that vary by the severity of the offense. For those who are convicted with Blood Alcohol Concentrations (BACs) between 0.08 and 0.10%, their driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months. Drivers with BACs over 0.10% will have their license suspended for 12 months, while those caught driving a car with a child in it under the age of 14 at the time of the incident can expect to have their license revoked for 18 months.

In addition to these license suspension periods, offenders may also be required to pay fines, attend alcohol education courses and/or perform community service. Repeat offenders face increasing penalties and may even be sent to jail in certain cases.

If you find yourself facing a DUI charge, it’s important that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to discuss your options. An attorney can help you understand the specifics of your case and work to get the best possible outcome.

StateState Minimum First DUI License Suspension Period (2023)
Alabama90 days
Alaska90 days
Arizona90 days
Arkansas90 days
California4 months
Colorado9 months
Connecticut6 months
Delaware6 months
Florida6 months
Georgia1 year
Hawaii90 days
Idaho90 days
Illinois6 months
Indiana180 days
Iowa180 days
Kansas30 days
Kentucky30 days
Louisiana90 days
Maine90 days
Maryland6 months
Massachusetts1 year
Michigan30 days
Minnesota90 days
Mississippi90 days
Missouri30 days
Montana6 months
Nebraska60 days
Nevada90 days
New Hampshire90 days
New Jersey3 months
New Mexico90 days
New York6 months
North Carolina1 year
North Dakota91 days
Ohio6 months
Oklahoma180 days
Oregon1 year
Pennsylvania6 months
Rhode Island3 months
South Carolina6 months
South Dakota30 days
Tennessee1 year
Texas90 days
Utah120 days
Vermont90 days
Virginia1 year
Washington90 days
West Virginia6 months
Wisconsin6 to 9 months
Wyoming6 months
2023 State Minimum First DUI License Suspension Period
How long is your first DUI License Suspension?
How long is your first DUI License Suspension?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.